Open menu

About the Appeal

Parliamentarians have a vital role to play in enhancing the protection of civilians in armed conflict and supporting efforts both internationally and nationally to stop the use of explosive weapons with wide area effects in populated areas. This appeal is coordinated by the International Network on Explosive Weapons (INEW), an international NGO partnership calling for immediate action to prevent human suffering from the use of explosive weapons in populated areas. It draws on the repeated calls of the UN Secretary-General to avoid the use of explosive weapons with wide area effects in populated areas, and for states to start discussions on a political response to address this harm by urgently developing an international political declaration.

International Parliamentary Appeal to prevent human suffering from the use of explosive weapons in populated areas

Armed conflicts are increasingly conducted among civilian populations and with weapon systems designed for open battlefields, presenting serious challenges to the protection of civilians in armed conflicts today.

We, the undersigned parliamentarians, express our deep concern at the grave harm civilians are suffering from bombing and shelling in towns and cities.

Tens of thousands of women, men and children are killed, injured and traumatised each year by the use of explosive weapons in the neighbourhoods where they live and work: when explosive weapons are used in populated areas, around 90% of those directly killed or injured are civilians. Record numbers of people are displaced, fleeing in search of safety. Vital power, water and sanitation infrastructure is destroyed, shutting down essential services including health care and education. Schools and hospitals are damaged or destroyed, food supplies disrupted, communities and areas contaminated with unexploded ordnance are rendered unsafe, and homes uninhabitable.

We call upon governments to urgently develop, adopt and implement an international commitment to address this clear and documented pattern of harm by stopping the use of explosive weapons with wide area effects in populated areas and assisting affected people and communities.


Take action

  • Send an email to or tweet parliamentarians asking them to support INEW’s Parliamentary Appeal
  • Mobilise supportive Members of Parliament to announce on Twitter their endorsement of the International Parliamentary Appeal
  • Publicise the International Parliamentary Appeal on your organisation’s website and social media channels

Endorse the appeal

The Parliamentary Appeal is open to all members of national/state, provincial/local, and regional parliaments and congress to endorse. To sign, please email from your official parliamentary account indicating that you wish to be added and listed on the INEW website as an endorser.

Political response

Click here to see whether your country has recognised the harm explosive weapons cause and supported action to prevent it.


  • Italy

  • Giuseppe Brescia (Movimento 5 Stelle – M5S)
  • Pietro Grasso (LeU)
  • Loredana De Petris (LeU)
  • Michele Bordo (PD)
  • Marialuisa Faro (M5S)
  • Sara De Angelis (Lega)
  • Andrea Marcucci (PD)
  • Gilberto Pichetto Fratin (FI)
  • Stefano Fassina (LeU)


  • United Kingdom

  • Thangam Debbonaire (Labour)
  • Kate Osamor (Labour)
  • Anneliese Dodds (Labour)
  • Patrick Grady (SNP)
  • Marion Fellows (SNP)


  • Belgium

  • Bert Anciaux (SP.A)
  • Veronique Waterschoot (ecolo)
  • Gautier Calomne (MR)
  • Cécile Thibault (ecolo)
  • Séverine de Laveleye (ecolo)
  • Albert Vicaire (ecolo)
  • Stefaan Van Hecke (Groen)
  • Jessika Soors (Groen)
  • Wouter De Vriendt (Groen)
  • Samuel Cogolati (ecolo)
  • Kris Verduyckt (SP.A)


  • Switzerland

  • Thomas Ammann (CVP)
  • Philipp Hadorn (SP)
  • Nicolas Walder (Les Vert.e.s/Die Grünen)
  • Katharina Prelicz-Huber (Les Vert.e.s/Die Grünen)
  • Lenore Porchet (Les Vert.e.s/Die Grünen)


  • The Netherlands

  • Lilianne Ploumen (Labour Party)
  • Lammert van Raan (PvdD)
  • Jasper van Dijk (Socialist Party)


  • Luxembourg

  • Stéphanie Empain (déi gréng)


  • Norway

  • Kari Elisabeth Kaski (SV)
  • Karin Andersen (SV)
  • Lars Haltbrekken (SV)
  • Audun Lysbakken (SV)


  • Japan

  • Takeshi Shina (Constitutional Democratic Party)


  • France

  • Hubert Julian-Laferrière (LREM)
  • Mireille Clapot (LREM)
  • Fabien Gouttefarde (LREM)
  • Sira Sylla (LREM)
  • Jean-Michel Mis (LREM)
  • Paul Molac (Libertés et Territoires)
  • Carole Bureau-Bonnard (LREM)
  • Jennifer de Temmerman (LREM)
  • Frédérique Dumas (UDI)
  • Danièle Cazarian (LREM)
  • Laurianne Rossi (LREM)
  • Marion Lenne (LREM)
  • François-Michel Lambert (Libertés et Territoires)
  • M’jid El Guerrab (Libertés et Territoires)
  • Thomas Rudigoz (LREM)
  • Gabriel Serville (GDR)
  • Valérie Thomas (LREM)
  • Dominique Potier (PS)
  • Jacques Marilossian (LREM)
  • Annie Chapelier (LREM)
  • Sandrine Mörch (LREM)
  • Jacques Maire (LREM)
  • Hélène Zannier (LREM)
  • Jean-Luc Lagleize (MODEM)
  • Rodrigue Kokouendo (LREM)
  • Alain Bruneel (GRD)
  • Sylvain Waserman (MODEM)
  • Sébastien Jumel (GDR)
  • Bertrand Pancher (Libertés et Territoires)
  • Anissa Khedher (LREM)
  • Jean-Luc Reitzer (LR)
  • Jean François Mbaye (LREM)
  • Fabien Roussel (GDR)
  • Anne Brugnera (LREM)
  • Thomas Rudigoz (LREM)
  • Nathalie Sarles (LREM)
  • Mansour Kamardine (LR)


  • Germany

  • Dr. Karl-Heinz Brunner (SPD)
  • Mathias Höhn (Linke)
  • Katja Keul (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen)
  • Dr. Dietmar Bartsch (Linke)
  • Dr. Diether Dehm (Linke)
  • Anke Domscheit-Berg (Linke)
  • Claudia Roth (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen)
  • Eva-Maria Schreiber (Linke)
  • Dr. Petra Sitte (Linke)
  • Stefan Liebich (Linke)
  • Ottmar von Holtz (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen)
  • Ulla Jelpke (Linke)
  • Victor Perli (Linke)
  • Kathrin Vogler (Linke)
  • Christine Buchholz (Linke)
  • Dr. Kirsten Tackmann (Linke)
  • Friedrich Straetmanns (Linke)
  • Rita Hagl-Kehl (SPD)
  • Ulrike Bahr (SPD)
  • Siemtje Möller (SPD)
  • Esther Dilcher (SPD)
  • Frank Schwabe (SPD)
  • Ralf Kapschack (SPD)
  • Ulla Schmidt (SPD)
  • Leni Breymaier (SPD)
  • Martina Stamm-Fibich (SPD)
  • Josip Juratovic (SPD)
  • Johannes Schraps (SPD)
  • Marja-Liisa Völlers (SPD)
  • Yasmin Fahimi (SPD)
  • Marianne Schieder (SPD)
  • Stefan Schwartze (SPD)
  • Ute Vogt (SPD)
  • Saskia Esken (SPD)
  • Mathias Stein (SPD)
  • Martin Burkert (SPD)
  • Sabine Poschmann (SPD)
  • Kirsten Lühmann (SPD)
  • Elisabeth Kaiser (SPD)
  • Dr. Bärbel Kofler (SPD)
  • Dr. Anton Hofreiter (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen)
  • Margarete Bause (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen)
  • Agnieszka Brugger (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen)
  • Dr. Frithjof Schmidt (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen)
  • Katja Kipping (Linke)
  • Gökay Akbulut (Linke)
  • Harald Ebner (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen)
  • Dr. Fritz Felgentreu (SPD)
  • Andrej Hunko (Linke)
  • Aydan Özoğuz (SPD)
  • Bärbel Bas (SPD)
  • Hannah Neumann (MEP – Bündnis 90/Die Grünen)
  • Josip Juratovic (SPD)



Photo: © Handicap International – Humanity and Inclusion

Website by David Abbott Projects