

Elements for a political declaration Vienna Conference on the Protection of Civilians in Urban Warfare 1-2 October 2019

The International Network on Explosive Weapons (INEW), in line with the call of the UN Secretary-General, strongly supports the urgent development of a political declaration to reduce the harms caused by the use of explosive weapons in populated areas.

The development of an international political declaration can help to set a stronger international standard of behaviour, serving as a tool to drive forward positive policies and practice at a national level and building a community of positive practice.

We encourage States to speak in the "Way Forward" session of the Vienna Conference to support the development of a political declaration, highlighting the following broad elements of content:

A declaration should include a description of the different impacts, including:

- Civilian deaths and physical injury
- Physical impairment, psychological trauma (and social discrimination and economic deprivation often faced by victims and survivors)
- Destruction of housing, water and sanitation, health, energy, education, transport infrastructure, and interruption of associated services
- Displacement and denial of return
- Environmental degradation
- Denial of humanitarian access
- Contamination of territory with explosive remnants of war
- Costs for reconstruction and recovery

A political declaration should commit States to:

- Develop operational policies and procedures that will stop the use of explosive weapons with wide area effects in populated areas
- Share positive practice and experiences
- Recognise the rights of victims and affected communities and provide assistance
- Support and undertake data gathering
- Enable humanitarian and protection measures
- Build a community of practice, including through regular meetings to discuss the issue and progress towards reducing harm.

States who have expressed their support for a political declaration on explosive weapons:

Angola*+ Antigua and Barbuda[^] Argentina^{^+} Austria⁺ Bangladesh⁺ Barbados[^] Belize[^] Bosnia and Herzegovina⁺ Botswana^{*} Brazil^{^+} Bulgaria⁺ Cameroon* Central African Republic*+ Chile^{^+} Colombia[^] Congo^{*} Costa Rica^{^+} Croatia⁺ Cvprus⁺ Czech Republic⁺ Dominican Republic[^] Ecuador[^] El Salvador^{^+} Ethiopia*

Finland⁺ Georgia⁺ Germany⁺ Ghana* Guatemala^{^+} Guyana[^] Haiti[^] Honduras[^] Iceland⁺ Indonesia⁺ Ireland⁺ Islamic Republic of Iran⁺ Italy⁺ Jamaica[^] Kenya^{*} Liechtenstein⁺ Liberia^{*} Luxembourg⁺ Madagascar*+ Malaysia⁺ Mali* Malta⁺ Mexico^{^+} Moldova⁺ Monaco⁺ Montenegro⁺ Mozambique*+

Morocco New Zealand⁺ Nigeria^{*} Norway⁺ North Macedonia⁺ Panama[^] Paraguay[^] Peru^{^+} Portugal⁺ Samoa⁺ San Marino⁺ Senegal* Serbia⁺ Slovenia⁺ Somalia^{*} Spain⁺ Sri Lanka⁺ St Kitts and Nevis[^] St Vincent and the Grenadines[^] Sweden⁺ Switzerland⁺ Togo^{*} Uganda^{*+} Ukraine⁺ Uruguay[^] Zambia*+ Zimbabwe*

* States who expressed support via the Maputo Communiqué

^ States who expressed support via the Santiago Communiqué

+ States who expressed support via the Irish-led joint statement at the UN General Assembly's 2018 First Committee